The Beginning…


Do you know how they wash the windows of Skyscrapers in Buenos Aires, Argentina?

Scaffolds, ladders, little guys with squeezes and cloths? Nope.

In Argentina, to wash the windows of skyscrapers men attach themselves to the roof of the building and literally rappel down the side, washing as they go.

I use this story as an introduction to what hopefully will be an insightful investigation, a journey you might say, into the world of “Entrepreneurship in Emerging Markets.” In places where the infrastructure may not exist, the training could be severely lacking, and the capital isn’t as readily available we are still seeing incredible innovation and progress being made by some of the smallest (but quickest growing) countries in the world. This “innovation out of necessity” is leading to incredible breakthroughs in business and technology, often designed, produced and managed at a much lower cost than equivalents in the US or Western Europe. In Buenos Aires I imagine some Facilities Manager just said “pues, esta idea sirve… vamos!” (Translation: well, this idea works… let’s go!) and thus his men rappel down to clean, but its only one example among thousands… heck probably millions!

As many of my friends and family already know my girlfriend and I are shortly embarking on an experience of a lifetime. A yearlong adventure in which I hope to combine my recently discovered interest in entrepreneurship and innovation overseas with my passion for travel, adventure and seeing the world.

The destinations as of now? South Africa, The Philippines, China, India, and Southeast Asia – but who really knows where this will take us?

As I go along I hope to use this forum to catalog my leanings before I depart and then document my discoveries along the way. I welcome all thoughts, recommendations, and even the occasional witty banter – let’s have some fun with this :).

This entry was posted in Entrepreneurship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Beginning…

  1. Megan says:

    Wow Josiah this sounds amazing! Good luck!

Leave a comment